What's the difference between a samurai and a ninja?

The major difference between samurai and ninja is who they exactly are. Samurai were warriors that belonged to the noble classes of ancient Japan. On the other hand, ninjas were often mercenaries, spies, and assassins, and would often belong to the lower classes of ancient Japanese society.