Are japanese beetles blind?

Contrary to popular belief, figeater beetles are not blind. Due to the way they function, their partially open elytra makes them notoriously slow and drunk-like as they navigate the air. It's not uncommon to see fig beetles crashing into walls, trees, and even humans when they fly!