Tell me about the maya?

The Maya peoples are an ethnolinguistic group of indigenous peoples of Mesoamerica. Today's Maya are generally descended from people who lived within the ancient Maya civilization. Today they inhabit southern Mexico, Guatemala, Belize, El Salvador and Honduras.