Why do we need brains?

Complex creatures need a Brain to control both, the Autonomic functions, those done without needing our thought, e.g. breathing, hearing, digesting, etc, & Somatic functions, those that do require some thought, or reaction to stimuli, e.g. thinking, flinching from pain, walking, etc.