Why is garlic so sticky?

First the fix: sprinkle some salt on the rough cut garlic... Now the why... chemical attraction between the proteins in you skin and the garlic compounds causes the sensation of stickiness.

---

the chemical attraction between the proteins in you skin and the garlic compounds causes the sensation of stickiness, much like hydrolyzed sugar sticking to your skin