What is nuclear energy?

Nuclear energy is energy released by a nuclear reaction, such as fusion, fission, or radioactive decay. In fusion, light nuclei like hydrogen combine to make heavier nuclei like helium, plus energy. In fission, very heavy nuclei like uranium release energy by breaking into smaller nuclei.