When was hawaii first discovered?

On January 18 1778, the English explorer Captain James Cook becomes the first European to travel to the Hawaiian Islands when he sails past the island of Oahu. Two days later, he landed on Kauai and named the island group the Sandwich Islands, in honor of John Montague who was the earl of Sandwich.