What was the battle of bainbridge?

The name Bainbridge came from a battle between the Suquamish Tribe and Canadian Indians who clashed on Bainbridge Island in the 1900s. Indians from Canada were coming down probably to steal women. A signal was sent to let the Suquamish know they were coming. A battle ensued and Bainbridge was named.