Why do whales beach themselves?

Some researchers argue that underwater sonar pulses startle and disorientate whales, possibly scaring them into seeking safety in shallow waters. Genetic mutations, illnesses from infections or parasites, injuries from predators or entanglements in fishing gear and old age may all also play a role.