What are gizzards made out of?

A gizzard is a muscle found in the digestive tract of a chicken and other birds. When food arrives, this powerful little muscle contracts, like a tiny fist squeezing a handful of gravel. The gravel grinds up the food, and the food continues on into the stomach.