Where does salmonella come from?

Salmonella can be found in many food sources, including raw meat, under cooked or improperly stored poultry and seafood, raw eggs, fresh produce, and even spices, nuts and supplements.

---

Salmonellae is a bacteria which is categorized as invasive (typhoidal) or noninvasive (nontyphoidal salmonellae). Most infections are caused by eating food like beef, chicken, eggs, fruits and vegetables contaminated by animal or human feces, such as by a food-service worker at a commercial eatery.

---

Any raw food of animal origin, such as meat, poultry, milk and dairy products, eggs, and seafood, and increasingly some fruits and vegetables may carry salmonella bacteria. You should avoid eating raw or under-cooked meat, poultry, or eggs, along with unpasteurized dairy products.