What's the difference between a torre pattern and a toby pattern on a cat?

Tortoiseshell, or tortie, cats are cats that have a mixture of black and orange in their coat. Torbie is a term used to refer to tortoiseshell cats who also have a striped tabby pattern. Both tortie and torbie cats are usually female.