Who is ferdinand cortez?

Per Wikipedia, Hernán Cortés, also known as Ferdinand, was a Spanish Conquistador who led an expedition that caused the fall of the Aztec Empire and brought large portions of what is now mainland Mexico under the rule of the King of Castile in the early 16th century.