How to get off roof onto ladder?

When you climb onto a roof, you should be using a ladder that extends at least 3 feet above the edge of the roof with the ladder leaned out from the roof so that the bottom is a foot from the edge for each 4 feet of length of the ladder used. Stand next to the ladder and step in.