How fast did the fastest person in the world go?

Usain Bolt ran the one hundred meters in 9.58 seconds at the 2009 World Track and Field Championships in Berlin, Germany. That's 10.43 meters per second, 37.58 kilometers per hour, or 23.36 miles per hour.