What is little abner about?

Li'l Abner, American newspaper comic strip that ran from 1934 until 1977, chronicling the absurdities of daily life in the fictional Appalachian town of Dogpatch. Li'l Abner was created in 1934 by cartoonist Al Capp. The comic strip abounded in stereotypes of Appalachia.