Why does sonic run so fast?

Originally a normal brown hedgehog and resident of the Green Hill Zone, Sonic accidentally discovered the lab of benevolent scientist Doctor Ovi Kintobor. Kintobor used his scientific knowledge to help Sonic to run faster when he invented a pair of friction-reducing Power Sneakers.