How do you start uno?

First, deal each player seven cards. The remaining cards should be placed face-down, to form the "draw" pile. Then, turn over the top card of the draw pile to begin the "discard" pile, the pile players will place their cards on top of. The person sitting to the left of the dealer gets to go first.