Are garbanzo beans and chickpeas the same?

They are in fact the same bean. A chickpea or garbanzo bean both refer to a plant in the legume category with the scientific name Cicer arietinum.

---

These two are indeed one in the same. The only reason why they're sometimes referred to by different names is that "chickpeas" refers to the English name for the food while "garbanzo" is the Spanish name for them. But, they are in fact the same food.