Why is an owl considered wise?

In Greek mythology, the goddess Athene was thought to symbolize wisdom and was often depicted with an owl nearby. It was inspired by the owls' big eyes and solemn appearance. The Greeks also thought owls had some sort of inner light that let them see at night.