Do ticks live in california?

Yes they do. They live close to their host.This includes dog, cats, rodents, birds, deer and unfortunately, humans. Contrary to popular belief, ticks don't live on their hosts. They are typically found outdoors, in wooded or grassy areas, where they attach to their host and begin to feed.