When were m. and m.'s made?

m and ms developed in the 1930s. In 1932 Forrest Mars Sr. of the Mars candy company moved to England, where he manufactured Mars Bars for troops. During the Spanish Civil War, Mars met British volunteers eating chocolate beads covered in hard sugar, which prevented melting. m and ms were born.