Does skin grow back?

The body's largest organ might seem barely more than cellular wrapping paper, but skin has roles that range from fending off microorganisms to regulating body temperature. It also has a considerable flaw: severely damaged skin can heal, but it can't regenerate. Instead, it forms scars