How long does it take for royal icing to dry?

The answer depends on the thickness of the icing in question & the humidity of the area. Once your royal icing is in place, it will form a thin crust on the surface in about 15-30 minutes. It will stay wet underneath for several hours, the thickest royal icing should be pretty firm in about 12hrs