Do a possums bite?

In general, opossums are docile, non-aggressive animals and will not attack your pets. They prefer to escape and avoid confrontations, if possible. If not, the threatened opossum may “play 'possum”, show its teeth, or bite in self-defense, as any animal would.

---

Opossums are typically skittish and will run before coming into contact with people, but if cornered or trapped, they will bite.