How does a bear roar?

According to "Western Wildlife", most bear species make vocalizations that sound like a huff, chomp, woof, growl, and or bark which mean the bear is agitated, angry or annoyed. A bawl, bellow, squeal or whimper indicates pain. Bears vocalize using their vocal chords.