When did china's one child policy start?

Introduced in 1979, the one-child policy was part of a program designed to control the size of the rapidly growing population of the People's Republic of China. In November 2013, China announced the decision to relax the one-child policy.

---

The policy commenced in 1979 and was uniformly implemented and fully enforced in 1980. The end of the policy was officially announced on February 11, 2015.