Do thermal curtains save energy?

Technically, yes, thermal curtains can help reduce hot air entering your room in the summer through air leaks along your windows. They trap heat behind the layers of fabric. But the overall reduction in energy waste is small, as thermal curtains don't reduce your overall air conditioning load.