How do you cut a vanilla bean?

Take the vanilla bean “pod” and lay it flat on a cutting surface. Using a sharp knife slice the vanilla bean down the middle, lengthwise, creating two long halves. Next, take the BACK side of the knife and run it down the length of each split “pod” to collect “the seeds.”