How did the seasons get their name?

From Old English; mostly from Proto-Germanic before that. Winter, from Proto-Germanic "wentruz". Spring, when flowers "spring forth". Summer, from Old English "sumor", from Proto-Germanic "sumur". Fall, from Old English "fall of the leaves" or Autumn, from French "autompne", from latin "autumnus".