Who were the first people to live in britain?

It is that known early Neanderthals were in Britain about 400,000 years ago thanks to the discovery of the skull of a young woman in Swanscombe, Kent in south east England. Neanderthals have been found across Britain from then to 50,000 years ago, and perhaps even later.