What's the history of jujitsu?

Jiu-Jitsu's origins can be traced to Buddhist monks of India, but its modern form comes from Japan. It was the battlefield art of the Samurai of Japan. In the early 1900's it became Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu thanks to the training of Japanese diplomat Mitsyuo Maeda who began teaching it in South America.