Can you stop a maple tree from producing seeds?

Stopping Maple Seed Pods You can prevent seed formation by preventing pollinated flowers from developing. Cover nearby vegetation with plastic tarps to protect them from growth regulator hormone overspray. You should also never spray growth regulator hormone on a windy day.