What is the angle of elevation?

An angle of elevation is an angle with one horizontal arm, and one arm above horizontal. OR. explained as, The "upwards" angle from the horizontal to a line of sight from the observer to some point of interest. If the angle goes "downwards" it is called an Angle of Depression.