What year was the original charlie and the chocolate factory?

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) is an American film directed by Tim Burton and released in 2005. It is a new adaptation of the novel of the same name by Roald Dahl, published in 1964.