Tell me about the volcano of pompeii?

The volcano that destroyed Pompeii is Mount Vesuvius, a somma-stratovolcano in the Campania region of southern Italy. It last erupted in March 1944, but it is closely monitored as it is considered an active volcano posing a threat to the large surrounding population.