What is the movie taxi about?

Taxi is a 1976 movie starring Robert Deniro as Travis Bickle, a cab driver in New York City who slowly loses his grip on reality and becomes increasingly focused on cleaning up the city and saving the world. Also starring 12 year old Jodie Foster in a controversial early role.