How did bruce wayne become batman?

Bruce Wayne promised to avenge his parents' death by fighting crime in Gotham City. Bruce dedicated his wealth and energy to prepare himself to fulfill the oath. Bruce decided to become something criminals would fear and adopted the identity of "The Batman".