Is sesame seeds a grain?

A seed is not a grain – they have much different levels of nutrition and digestibility. A grain is the small edible fruit of the plant, usually hard on the outside, harvested from grassy crops. Grains grow in clusters at the tops of mature plants, such as wheat, oats, and rice.