What is a picture walk?

A picture walk is a shared activity between an adult reader and child or group of children before reading an unfamiliar story. In its simplest terms, it is previewing the pictures in a storybook to familiarize the child with the story prior to introducing the text.

---

Picture Walk is a pre-reading strategy that familiarizes students with a text/story prior to reading. Students preview the images or graphic features in fiction or nonfiction texts to make predictions, and activate background or prior knowledge to enhance comprehension.