What the chemicals used on denim?

Pure, non-synthetic denim is made from cotton and indigo dye. Some denims are also blended with nonylphenol ethoxylates, which are harmful to aquatic life. The chemicals used for fading include potassium permanganate and sodium metabisulphate that may cause skin irritation for some wearers.