Does south carolina have alligators?

About 750 alligator complaints are investigated in South Carolina each season, of which more than half are less than 5 ft long and weigh about 22 lbs, and adult alligators can be up to 13 feet long. They can run up to 35 mph on land, so keep 60 ft away, and if it starts hissing you're too close.