Are dates and figs the same thing?

They are not the same. Dates are the fruit of the date palm tree (Phoenix dactylifera), while figs are harvested from the fig tree (Ficus carica). Both are an excellent source of dietary fiber and other important nutrients, such as potassium and magnesium.