What is a pre war apartment?

Many mid- and high-rise apartment buildings which were built between 1900 and 1939 in New York and surrounding areas are considered "pre-war" and known for their spaciousness, hardwood flooring, detailing, and, in some cases, fireplaces. Quite often they are luxury rentals or co-op apartments.