How high are the gusts of wind?

The highest ground wind speed ever recorded was 253 miles, or 407 kilometers per hour in 1996 in Barrow Island, Australia. For 62 years prior to that, the highest speed recorded was 231 miles, or 372 kilometers per hour in 1934 at Mount Washington, New Hampshire in the United States.