What was the potato famine in ireland?

The Irish Potato Famine began in 1845 when a fungus destroyed much of the potato crop in Ireland over a span of several years. This led to a death of roughly one million Irish, and another million who were forced to become refugees.

---

The potato famine was a period of mass starvation and disease in Ireland from 1845 to 1849. It was caused by potato blight which infected potato crops throughout Europe during the 1840s.