What causes mushrooms to grow in the yard?

Fungi decompose lignin based organic matter and lignin is found in woody material like tree roots, tree stumps, tree leaves, decaying mulch, twigs, etc. ... It is most common to find mushrooms next to the decaying organic matter that is more difficult to decompose.