What causes mushrooms to grow in the yard?

Mushrooms can’t grow in soil that is devoid of nutrients so the fact that you’ve got mushrooms in your lawn tells you that your soil is fertile. Some causes: Conditions Are Cool, Damp & Shady, Drainage Issues , too many cut grass clippings, and rotting wood or tree stumps in the grass.