What level are diamonds on in minecraft?

Diamonds occur between the Y-coordinates 5 and 16, though they occur most often between layers 5 and 12. You can check your Y-coordinates by opening your map (console and PE), or by pressing F3 (PC) or Alt + Fn + F3 (Mac).

---

Diamond can be found anywhere beneath layer 16, but is most common in layers 5-12.