What bird puts head in the sand?

Contrary to the popular myth, ostriches do not bury their heads in the sand! When an ostrich senses danger, it flops to the ground and remains still, with its head and neck flat on the ground in front of it. Because the head and neck are lightly colored, they blend in with the sand.