How do you entertain a cat?

Try tea and crumpets. Just joking. A laser pointer works well. They will chase the dot of light. There are a number of other toys that will entertain a cat, if they wish to be entertained. Most cats like to explore so any cat furniture that will allow them to climb in and out will occupy them.